“Sometimes silence is golden. Other times it’s just plain yellow.”

preach the gospel2So there I was again, last week, having a conversation with another Christian about sharing Christ with the world, and he says, “I like to just ‘let my light shine’ (Matthew 5:16) and try be a godly example for people. I think it’s best not to force my beliefs on anyone. Besides, bringing up Jesus and religion creates divisiveness and makes people uncomfortable.” (Sigh)
 
I literally asked him, in front of his peers, “How’s that working for you? How many people have come running to you and asked, ‘What must I do to be saved?’ Has anyone ever done that to you?” He shook his head. I pressed, “Have you ever led anyone to Christ?” (Blank face.) “When was the last time you verbally shared the gospel with someone?” (Flush face.) “Can you lead me to Christ right now?” (Shock face.) I shared with this young man, and the group, “Sometimes silence is golden. Other times it’s just plain yellow.”
 
There are only two reasons Christians don’t verbally share the gospel with folks. 1) Fear and 2) Ignorance. Fear of not knowing what to say, of being unable to answer questions or counter objections, of being labeled as a Jesus Freak or a religious zealot, or of offending someone, or even broaching the topic. And ignorance — simply don’t know what the gospel is or how to share.
 
I admit that the fundamental reason for silence in my past was that same fear. I still deal with it today. I hid behind statements like, “I’m going to take the time to build the relationship, and then trust God to open a door in His timing.” What a bunch of baloney! The reality was that I was afraid and I didn’t know the gospel. And seriously, if you come across a stranger who’s hanging from a cliff and his life is in danger, and you have the ability to save him, would you rationalize, “Well, I have to take time to build a relationship with him before I can save him?” Of course not! This is a life and death situation, and so is the eternal destination of one’s soul.
 
So, whether you have two minutes or two hours, you can and must share the gospel. (See my YouTube videos “How to Share the Gospel”) The message of salvation can be summed up in four basic points. Know these. Meditate on these. Share these.
 
1. God loves you…. but your sins. (Literally pause and meditate on this.)
2. Everyone has sinned and all sins must be paid for. (Meditate!)
3. Jesus in the only way to God and eternal life. (Meditate!)
4. You must believe in your heart & confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord. (Selah!)
 
Letting our “light shine before men” does not give us permission to be silent about the gospel. I am okay with “Lifestyle Evangelism” as long it does not replace the verbal sharing of the gospel. We can, and should, be doing both. For the glory of God, I’ve led many people to Christ, and not one of them came running to me. I approached them!
 
People today are lost, confused, in pain, dying, and going to hell, but we have the solution. His name is Jesus Christ! As I’ve shared these four points in earnest with family, friends, and strangers, I’ve seen the power of the gospel melt their hearts. (Romans 1:16)
 
Sure, be an example with your lifestyle. Serve your neighbors, your community, and others, greatly. But, don’t stop there just because you’re afraid. Get over your fears! I’ve found that when I care for people more than I care for myself, the possibility of their salvation overrides my fear. And, if you genuinely love people, you will tell them about Christ. But if you love yourself more, you’ll be silent. The power of salvation is in the gospel. Just share it!
 
In closing, we need your help. Being full-time missionaries in Japan is physically and spiritually demanding, and financially expensive. We’re genuinely about The Father’s Business, but we simply cannot fulfill these ministries without financial support. Please consider partnering with us through financial gifts and offerings. Donations can be made online at CinA.
 

4 responses to ““Sometimes silence is golden. Other times it’s just plain yellow.”

  1. Pingback: “Oh, so now you’re butt-hurt?!!” | ZCDC·

  2. Pingback: “Hey you! Christian! Engage!” | ZCDC·

  3. Pingback: “We make disciples!” | ZCDC·

  4. Pingback: “Stolen Valor” | ZCDC·

Leave a comment