“The man who stole this is dead.”

God calls us to die. And God is committed to killing us! (LOL!) Romans 6:11 reads, “You are dead to sin and alive to God!” (Read this Prayer aloud over yourself and/or someone else.)

Speaking of obedience to God, back in 1981 and my first duty station as a young Marine in Jacksonville, NC, I accompanied a friend into a small camera store. The owner, who happened to look like Santa Clause, began showing my friend some cameras. At one point Santa Claus turned his back to us and reached into the display case on the wall to retrieve a camera. Immediately, and in complete ignorance, I reached over the glass counter which separated us and snatched a zoom lens from his counter display. (I promise you, I cannot explain this other than stupidity and flesh. It was thoughtless and so pointless. Add to my stupidity, I didn’t even have a camera!)

Fast-forward twelve years to 1993. Much has changed. I’d served at various duty stations around the globe. I’d been to combat. I’d gotten married. And, I’d also given my life to Christ. Now I’m stationed back in Jacksonville and as a young Christian, I’m allowing God to repair and rearrange my life. As such, God called me to clean out my house – to rid my house of questionable items, e.g., magazines, borrowed things, stolen things, etc. As I’m going through my foot-locker, there’s that darn zoom lens. I never used it, I may have opened it once or twice, and it’s still in its original packaging! I was just about to toss it in the trash when I felt the Holy Spirit speak into my heart. The conversation went something like this:

God: Take it back.
Me: Wuh???
God: Take it back.
Me: But God, You forgave me for that.
God: Take it back.
Me: But God, that place is probably not even there anymore.
God: Take it back.
Me: But God, that was twelve years ago.
God: Take it back.
Me: But God, what will I say?!!
God: Take it back.
Me: But God, I might get arrested!!!
God: Take it back.

For several days, I wrestled with this. Was that really the Holy Spirit prompting me or just my imagination? What would I say to the shop owner? What could I say? What would happen? I even checked the yellow pages and found that the camera shop was still there. (Yikes!) Finally, out of shear, blind obedience and faith, I purposed in my heart to take it back. All that day, my military career and marriage (I hadn’t mentioned any of this to Sandy) flashed before my eyes because in my mind this was a death sentence, of sorts. I imagined trying to explain to the owner yet ultimately getting arrested that evening. I saw my court-martial, my sentencing, and my Bad Conduct Discharge. I saw strain in my marriage and possible divorce. Total embarrassment and humiliation. (Sigh)

Regardless, that evening I drove up and sat in my car for a few moments. I could see through the storefront window. Santa Claus was still there! I still did not know what I was going to say. However, in obedience to what I felt was God, I climbed out of my car and walked through the door. Trembling, I walked up to the man, and I still didn’t know what to say. It wasn’t until I placed that zoom lens on the glass counter that these words came out of my mouth. “This belongs to you. It was stolen from you about twelve years ago. The man who stole this is dead.” Complete silence. The man just stared back and forth between me and the zoom lens. After a few more moments, I simply did a right turn and walked out of the store.

I got to my car and just sat there, trying to absorb and comprehend everything that had just happened. I literally felt a trance, of sorts, leaving me. I knew that the Spirit of God had just guided me through that. Then, the Spirit of God spoke to me clearly, saying, “Nick, I will always meet you at the point of obedience. If I tell you to go somewhere, get there and I will meet you there. If I tell you to do something, do it and I will be there. If I tell you to say something, open your mouth and I will give you words (Ex 4:12; Jn 14:26; Lu 12:11-12; Mt 10:19-20; Mk 13:10-11). You can trust Me. I will never leave you or forsake you.” I melted.

Over the years, many Christians have approached me about this event to tell me that I lied and/or deceived that man. My response? “God put those words in my mouth. God also showed me that when I received Christ, I became a new creature.” 2 Corinthians 5:17 reads, “Therefore, if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” The old-Nick who stole that zoom lens was dead, and because of Christ the new-Nick was born-again (Jn 3:3; 1Pe 1:3).

Since then, and through much trial and error, I’ve had the privilege of stepping out in faith and consequently witnessing, experiencing, and becoming deeply acquainted with the presence, leading, and power of God. I’m nobody special, just someone who deeply believes in God and wants Him to be Lord over my life. I could have missed all these faith-works and experiences had I never stepped out in faith and obeyed His unction.

Here are some points I’ve gleaned about obedience to God:
a. Every act of obedience will increase your faith.
b. Every act of disobedience will decrease your faith.
c. Obedience to Christ always leads to persecution.
d. Persecution is a byproduct of faith.
e. Your disobedience and silence is a form of denial of Christ.
f. Your disobedience may be an indicator that you are a Spiritual POW (Prisoner of War).

You want to start experiencing the presence and power of God? Obey Him! Just do it! Start with sharing the gospel with everyone. After all, this is your primary mission as a Christian (Mk 16:15) and Jesus commissioned you to do this. (Watch: What is the Gospel and How to Share it) God won’t let you down! He will always meet you at the point of obedience!

– Subscribe
– Make a Donation
When asked, nearly everyone agrees that America is lost, confused, in pain, and dying, but the real question I pose to these people is, “What are you doing about it?” (Read “Engage!”)
Our “Fix Bayonets” drills! Role-playing – Christians vs. Critics – using the Word of God to contend with every issue Christians are facing today. (Read “The Code is the Law!”)
These men and women are being discipled and equipped rapidly to wield the Word of God. They are consequently emboldened and very engaged as laborers in God’s harvest. (Read: “Rise Up and Walk!”)
David is such a blessing with his gift of cooking and grilling! It’s another level! Last cook-in, David made his signature Pineapple-Pepper-Jack-Cheese-Burgers! Folks couldn’t get enough. Haha!
Make a Donation: https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/
My contention is that guys don’t really like girls. If we really liked girls, why do we treat them the way we do? Generally speaking, guys like themselves much more which I why we use girls. Real talk, I believe that guys want to like girls, they just need to be taught. (Read: “Do you really like girls?”)
Can God capture your heart? Let me rephrase that. Will you let God capture your heart? What’s holding you back from completely surrendering your heart to God?
Watch YouTube Video: https://youtu.be/S2kCbmWp_io
Agree with us in Prayer:

a. For the Brig/Prison: Pray for all the souls (the leaders, the inmates, the guards, and their families). The battle for the souls of these men continues. However, one of the men recently approached me and apologized for his rebellion over the last two months. He even asked me why I keep coming into the Brig after the way he and other inmates dislike me at times. Then, in tears, he humbly asked me to mentor him. I admitted to him that it is difficult to keep going in against all the resistance, but that I have a burden from the Lord for souls in confinement. And the burden won’t let me stop.

Join me in prayer for an increasing, godly stronghold over the prison population. Bind up demonic spirits of discord, hate, religion, bitterness, unforgiveness, shame, condemnation, laziness, indifference, procrastination, and pride. And loose a spirit of salvation, discipleship, forgiveness, humility, exposure, healing, deliverance, peace, restoration, unity, and cooperation!

b. For continued increase at ZCDC (Churchplant). We continue to re-build. It’s the nature of ministry this far north on the island. Pray for the discipling and releasing of more laborers into the harvest here. Pray for our strength, wisdom, and resources as weekly we gather souls on Camp Schwab. We gather sheep and convert goats. Pray for mature, Qualified Families and Permanent Personnel to co-labor with us in this northern-most, remote area of Okinawa.

c. For Zebulun Worship Team. Our lead singer, Matthew, is back and rebuilding the worship team. Pray for a spirit of praise to be released in our midst.

d. For our Believers to walk in increased discernment, wisdom, maturity, power, and works, that they are properly discipled, and that they bear much Kingdom fruit, now!

e. Pray against retaliatory, unclean spirits from On-Base and Off-Base. Bind up demonic spirits of control, division, envy, strife, competition, lust, and fear. And loose a spirit of unity, peace, love, maturity, discipleship, and faith among Believers.

f. For our current schedule (finances, resources, wisdom, strategies, and strength):

– Sun: Share/Report Christians In Action ministries
– Mon: Radical & Relevant (R&R) @7pm
– Wed: Brig Christian Fellowship (BCF) @7pm
– Thu: Publish Think On These Things Newsletters
– Thu: Publish YouTube Videos (Channel: YahwehHasASon)
– Fri: Sexual Integrity & Restoration (SIR) @9am
– Sat: Zebulun Christian Discipleship Center (ZCDC) @6pm

– See Facebook Live Ministerial Videos
– Make a Donation
If you’ve benefitted from any of the Lord’s works we’re involved in (FMF, Brig, Newsletters, Zebulun, YouTube videos, etc.), please help us continue ministering to those in need of salvation and discipling.
Make a Donation: https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/
“Hey you! Christian! You can do this!” 2 Timothy 4:5 tells you to fulfill your ministry. (Read: “They took my youngest daughter first.”)
In closing…

Saints, pray! Pray! Pray! The prayers of a righteous person are powerful and effective! (Jms 5:16) Your prayers over us are precious. What a blessing you are!

The Kingdom of God continues to be preached! Every week, we step out in faith and experience the Holy Spirit working in people’s lives — jobs, marriages, ministries, and discipleship. We are about the Father’s Business and we need your help. Donations and support have been down this year. Please consider partnering with us in these ministries through your monetary donations and support. Financial gifts and contributions can be made online through Christians In Action. Or, you can mail contributions to the address listed below.

I declare that you keep your eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects your faith! (Heb 12:2)
<*{{{{><
In His hands,
Pastor Nick & Sandy Guerra

Contributions can be sent to:
Dominic Guerra (Acct# 426)
c/o Christians In Action, Missions International
PO Box 25093
Fresno, CA 93729

▪ Please ensure Acct #426 is annotated on your contribution so the funds can be allocated correctly.
▪ Please share/forward these newsletters at your discretion.

Make a Donation
— Our Mission & Vision —
“Gather Sheep & Convert Goats!”
“Catch, Clean, & Release!”

One response to ““The man who stole this is dead.”

  1. Pingback: Quick Update: | ZCDC·

Leave a comment