“Oh, I see. You’re a hypocrite.”

Lol! In a strange way, atheists actually end up supporting the existence of God. For the Believer, read “They did not need to die!”
So, I had just finished some minor maintenance at the church and I was out on the street, packing up my van, when two Marines came strolling by. This was the ensuing conversation:

Me: How are you guys likin’ Oki?
Dan and Nate: It’s cool. It’s different.
Me: When’s the last time you’ve been to church?
Dan: Boot camp. It’s been a while. I gotta get back into it.
Nate: (boldly) I quit going because I’m an atheist now.
Me: Ohhhh… so you hate God. I gotta know, what happened? Why do you hate God?
Nate: (eager to unload) I hate God because my parents forced Catholicism on me as a kid! Religion and the Bible are too rigid and too strict! I don’t think things should be forced onto us.
Me: Oh, I see. You’re a hypocrite.
Nate: Wait, wuh?
Me: You rejected being forced to conform to Catholicism. But I did twenty-two years in the Marine Corps, so I know you’re being forced and expected to do things in the Marines that you don’t agree with.
Dan: That’s true.
Nate: Uhhhh…
Me: By the way, why do you hate someone you don’t believe in? How is that even possible?
Nate: Errrr…
Dan: Good point.
Me: Look. I don’t wanna hold you guys up much, but we conduct two outreaches here every week — one on base at the Chapel on Monday nights and the other right here on Saturday nights. Issues like this are exactly the things we talk about and address. I promise that if you come, we will cover these topics and you’ll get answers. Here’s my business card with my contact info and schedule.
Dan: Thanks.
Nate: No, thank you. I don’t accept Christian paraphernalia.
Me: That’s cool. Dan has the info and the schedule. We talk about all this stuff. Just bring your questions and honesty, and you’re gonna get some answers.
Nate (irritated and aggressive): I’ll bring my questions. And I’ll also bring my answers!
Me: I see. Nate, are you still open-minded?
Nate: Of course.
Me: You can’t even see how big of a hypocrite you are.
Nate: Wuh???
Me: You say you’re open-minded, yet you just rejected my business card.
Dan: (Laughing)
Me: How old are you?
Nate (pissed): Twenty-one.
Me: When did you become self-aware? You know, begin to gain all your intelligence? Become woke?
Nate: Around fourteen, I’d say.
Me: So, roughly seven years.
Nate: Yes.
Me: So, you’re relying on your seven years of wokeness versus the Bible’s 2000 year track record?
Dan: Great point!
Nate: Uhhhhh…
Me: My apologies, but one more thing. Is it really fair to criticize someone you don’t know?
Nate: Of course not. What are you talking about?
Me: It’s very apparent that you don’t really know God or the Bible, yet here you are misjudging Him. At best you’re just spreading rumors and gossip about God. At worst you’re slandering Him. Doesn’t sound very fair to me.
Nate: (silence)
Dan: This was great! Thanks for the info. I’m gonna try to make it out soon.
Me: Take care, guys. Hope to see you soon.

I have conversations like this every week. What I’ve learned is that the degree to which you know God — primarily His Word — is the degree to which you will speak up for Him. The Apostle Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 4:13, “I believed, so I spoke.” Personally, I must admit that as His Word and His works have increased in my life, my belief in Christ is solidified. As such, so has my speech. Stated plainly, the more I know, the more I believe, the more I speak.

Questions for the Christian:

1.If you don’t know the Word, what’s the best you can give lost, confused, hurting people? Your opinions? Your Feelings? Your experiences?

2.If you don’t know the Word, how can you claim to know God? Through your feelings? Your imaginations? You’re akin to Nate the atheist who can only spout opinions, rumors, gossip, and slander about someone he doesn’t really know. (Read “Hey! I have been looking for you!” A raw conversation I had with a Christian who said that he didn’t have to read the Bible because God speaks to him directly.)

God has given us His written Word for many reasons. Our salvation (1Pe 1:23), our sanctification (Jn 17:17), our usefulness (2Tim 2:15), our assurance (1Jn 5:13), our instruction (2Tim 3:16), and He rewards those who diligently seek Him (Heb 11:6). Forgo your opinions and 1) Read His Word, 2) Know His Word, and 3) Share His Word.

▪Read “ABCs of the Word of God” (A-Z scriptures of the Word of God)
▪Video “LAPUPP!” Why is the Bible different from other writings?
▪My YouTube videos addressing a wide range of topics (Here)
Make a Donation
▪Remember to Share this Newsletter
“Fix bayonets!” Christians vs. Critics role-playing issues Christians face today.
Watch “Always Be Prepared to Give an Answer” (“https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwEqKWJP4r0&t=4s)
These men and women are learning to use the Word of God to “cast down imaginations and every high thing that would exalt itself against the knowledge of God, and bring into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.” (2Cor 10:5)
Make a Donation (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/)
Another group of men have been discipled and activated in the faith. This foot-washing is their graduation, of sorts. We declare words of blessing over them, we release them from this ministry, and we apostolically send them into their next chapter. They are on a mission for the Lord!
Read “Are you guilty of ‘Stolen Valor’?”
Real talk, once again we have seen a literal transformation in another group of men. No exaggeration. Like sponges, these men have absorbed the Word of God and the foundational teachings. It’s always so humbling to witness this process and the fruit they bare when they get back to the US. I am so grateful to the Lord for this strategic “launching pad ministry” here in Okinawa.
Read “We make disciples!”
Agree with us in prayer:

a. For reinstatement of Brig ministries (Wednesday night Bible Study and Friday morning Sexual Integrity & Restoration (SIR) classes. This whole matter seems to be drifting farther and farther away. It’s quite disappointing. Twenty-one years of effective, rehabilitative ministry, just gone. I don’t understand it, but I’ve been praying to the Lord to either super-naturally reopen these doors or to help me let it go.

b. Pray for mature, Qualified Families and Permanent Personnel to co-labor with us in this northern-most, remote area of Okinawa. Henoko/Schwab outreach carries a constant rebuilding nature due its high turnover rate and operational tempo. As we’ve just graduated another class, we literally have to labor and rebuild a new congregation. This rebuilding occurs practically every six months. Pray for our strength, wisdom, and resources as we gather more sheep and convert more goats.

c. Pray for our current schedule, i.e. finances, resources, wisdom, strategies, and strength:

▪ Sun: Share/Report Christians In Action ministries
▪ Mon: Radical & Relevant (R&R) @7pm
▪ Wed: Pray for Reinstatement of Brig Christian Fellowship (BCF) @7pm
▪ Thu: Publish Think On These Things newsletters
▪ Thu: Publish YouTube Videos (Channel: YahwehHasASon)
▪ Fri: Pray for Reinstatement of Sexual Integrity & Restoration (SIR) @9am
▪ Sat: Zebulun Christian Discipleship Center (ZCDC) @6pm

Make a Donation
My YouTube videos
Israel and Grant facilitating Communion. It’s part of their training.
Donate (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/)
Our burden and calling is to pour out our lives into people’s lives to produce maturity… and make Disciples! I promise you there is so much Kingdom fruit being harvested every week here. Just ask any of these men and women. If you’ve benefitted from any of these ministries — videos, newsletters, Bible studies, Church services, prison ministries — please pour back into us through your finances. There are souls here that need these ministries.
Make a Donation (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/
You ever noticed that you can stare at fine art — objects of beauty — for hours and it never gets dull? This is how I feel about Sandy. She’s a fine piece of art and oft times I find myself just staring at her and getting lost in her beauty — inner and outer. (Sigh) I met Sandy in late 1984 and it was over for me. I was smitten. Lol!
Watch my video tribute “Boy Meets Girl” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VCpcOngEUm4)
In closing:

Saints, thank you for making time to pray for us. Prayers of faith are effective and timely!

Throughout the US, there’s a steadily, increasing threat to Christian liberties. We can even feel this squeezing over here with all the diversity, tolerance, and cohesion training the masses are being indoctrinated with. However, we continue to press a godly counter-attack with the Word of God, the love of God, the truth of God, and the power of God. It’s not easy, but Sandy and I are willing to fight this good fight.

We can use your help, though. It’s not easy being full-time missionaries in Japan, and the issue of finances can be a huge distraction and impediment. Please consider partnering with us through your monetary gifts and donations. Financial contributions can be made online through Christians In Action. Or, you can mail contributions to the address listed below.

I declare that God, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns! (Php 1:6)
<*{{{{><
In His hands,
Nick & Sandy Guerra, Bond-servants of Christ

Contributions can be sent to:
Dominic Guerra (Acct# 426)
c/o Christians In Action, Missions International
1322 E. Shaw Ave., Ste. 150
Fresno, CA 93710-7904

▪Please ensure Acct #426 is annotated on your contribution so the funds can be allocated correctly.
▪Please share/forward these newsletters at your discretion.
Make a Donation
— OUR MISSION —
Gather Sheep & Convert Goats!
Catch, Clean, & Release!

One response to ““Oh, I see. You’re a hypocrite.”

  1. Pingback: Quick Update: | ZCDC·

Leave a comment