“… but christ!”

The Christian life is supposed to be faith-filled and daring and adventurous. If you’re ever bored as a Christian, I promise that between you and God, you’re the boring one.
– Read “Agonize the good agony!”

The contrast between being Christ-centered and self-centered is cringeworthy. The degree to which we strive to live honestly before God and with ourselves is the degree to which this dichotomy is most illumined. Every time I enter into the presence of God — through deep authentic prayer — I become acutely aware of His holiness and my frailty. There I lay… bare and exposed before the LORD. And I am at His mercy. This is always so humbling to me, that even in my fallen state the Father made a way for me to be with Him, to come before His very throne. And now, because of the finished works of Christ, the Father actually and excitedly invites me to commune with Him.

▪ Heb 4:14-16 So then, since we have a great High Priest who has entered heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to what we believe. (vs.15) This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. (vs.16) So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

Yet, on the daily, still I wrestle with my humanity. I get distracted. I get lost in my self-centeredness. I get tangled in my sin-sickness. And I lose sight of Christ. I lose focus. However, in the presence of Christ — His Word, His presence in prayer — proper godly focus returns and I regain peace, hope, and restoration. The following is a snapshot of my “out of focus” wrestlings.

▪ I am anxious… but Christ! (Php 4:6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.)
▪ I am faithless… but Christ! (Rom 10:17 So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ.)
▪ I am ignorant… but Christ! (1Cor 1:30 But by His doing you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, and righteousness and sanctification, and redemption.)
▪ I am distracted… but Christ! (Heb 12:2 Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.)
▪ I am exhausted… but Christ! (Mt 11:28 Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. (vs.29) Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.)
▪ I am overwhelmed… but Christ! (1Jn 4:4 Little children, you are from God and have overcome them, for he who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.)
▪ I am weak… but Christ! (2Cor 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.)
▪ I am betrayed… but Christ! (Ps 41:11 By this I know that You are pleased with me, Because my enemy does not shout in triumph over me. (vs.12) As for me, You uphold me in my integrity, And You set me in Your presence forever.)
▪ I am persecuted… but Christ! (2Tim 3:12 Indeed, all that desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.)
▪ I am desperate… but Christ! (1Cor 10:13 No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.)
▪ I wrestle with doubt… but Christ! (Mt 14:28 Then Peter called to him, “Lord, if it’s really you, tell me to come to you, walking on the water.” (vs.29) “Yes, come,” Jesus said. So Peter went over the side of the boat and walked on the water toward Jesus. (vs.30) But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted. (vs.31) Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”)
▪ I walk in darkness… but Christ! (Jn 8:12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”)
▪ I have sorrows… but Christ! (Rev 21:4 He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.)
▪ I am wavering… but Christ! (Isa 41:10 Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.)
▪ I worry about my salvation… but Christ! (1Jn 5:13 These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know that you have eternal life.)
▪ I have fears… but Christ! (2Tim 1:7) For God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.)
▪ My failures haunt me… but Christ! (Pro 24:16 For the righteous falls seven times and rises again, but the wicked stumble in times of calamity.)
▪ I have loss… but Christ! (Php 1:21 For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.)
▪ I have idols… but Christ! (Ps 25:4 Make me know Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths. (vs.5) Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; For You I wait all the day.)
▪ I carry guilt… but Christ! (Isa 1:18 “Come now, let’s settle this,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, I will make them as white as snow. Though they are red like crimson, I will make them as white as wool.)
▪ I carry shame… but Christ! (Ps 32:5 I acknowledged my sin to You, And my iniquity I did not hide; I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD”; And You forgave the guilt of my sin. Selah.)
▪ I have sin-debt… but Christ! (2Cor 5:21 For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ.)
▪ I am adulteress… but Christ! (1Cor 6:11 Some of you were once like that. But you were cleansed; you were made holy; you were made right with God by calling on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.)
▪ I am fleshly… but Christ! (Gal 5:16 But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.)
▪ My thought life gets polluted… but Christ! (Col 3:2 Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.)
▪ A war rages within me… but Christ! (Rom 7:23 But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. (vs.24) Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? (vs.25) Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.)
▪ I feel bound to sin… but Christ! (Rom 6:14 For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace.)
▪ Lost in ministry… but Christ! (Rev 2:2 “I know all the things you do. I have seen your hard work and your patient endurance. I know you don’t tolerate evil people. You have examined the claims of those who say they are apostles but are not. You have discovered they are liars. (vs.3) You have patiently suffered for me without quitting. (vs.4) “But I have this complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first!)
▪ I was lost and destined for hell… but Christ! (Lu 2:10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of great joy which will be for all the people; (vs.11) for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.)

“O nations of the world, recognize the LORD, recognize that the LORD is glorious and strong. (vs.29) Give to the LORD the glory He deserves! Bring your offering and come into His presence. Worship the LORD in all His holy splendor.” (1Chron 16:28-29)

Jesus Christ is the mark. Christ is our goal. Christ is our hope. Christ is our fulfilled promise from God. Christ is our gift from God. Don’t hesitate! Fall on your knees and worship Him now! And, I pray you have a Christ-centered Christmas.

▪ My YouTube Videos (https://www.youtube.com/user/yahwehhasason/videos)
▪ Make a Donation (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/)
▪ Share this Newsletter

the holidays

Greg and Alex helping to transition from the Thanksgiving theme to the Christmas theme. Question: what is your purpose in life? (Read “This is Your Purpose in Life!”)

Garrett wrestling with the Christmas lights. Garrett won. Haha! Question: If you were in the manger at Jesus’ birth, what would you be thinking? Watch “This is the face of God!” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q29Mcfb6vPg)

Seth fixing up the Zebulun entrance with the trimmings! Watch “Love is not a chore. It’s an opportunity!” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dnt5b5WvJiI&t=5s)

Nothing was spared for our Thanksgiving meal spread! Good ol’ home-cookin’ beats Chowhall any day! Fabulous eats! Question: Are there things in your life that you know God said to let go of? Watch “But I like the cookie.” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXNE8QYYqjo)

The Saints pairing up and audibly praying over each other. Prayer is a fundamental tool in the Christian’s battle arsenal. (Read “Do you wrestle?”)

I teach Christians how to fight! Simply because most Christians are NOT in the good fight. At the Camp Schwab Chapel Bible study (Radical & Relevant), we make disciples! We address real topics, for real answers, for real people! Watch “Do you remember? Forgetting God.” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjqTLxQk3vE&t=4s)

Israel’s 2 1/2 year mission here is complete. He’s been immersed in the Word of God and the works of God! He co-labored and served diligently and faithfully. This is Fam! Make a Donation (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/)

support now

In 1 Corinthians 9, the Apostle Paul addresses the issue of supporting those in ministry. He writes (vs.2) “for you are the seal of my apostleship in the Lord.” He’s saying if you’ve benefitted from anything we’ve said or done (your growth, maturity, or discipleship), then you are proof that I’ve been sent by God. Further, he states (vs.11) “If I have sown spiritual things among you, is it too much if we reap material things from you? (vs.14) … the Lord commanded that those who proclaim the gospel should get their living by the gospel.” Paul presents that someone who works is entitled to receive from those who benefit from those works. This is Bible! However, it’s vital to also understand that, regardless of his right to demand payment, Paul said that he will always choose to preach the gospel for free because God has entrusted him with this stewardship. As I relate to this greatly, I ask that you give and support as the Lord directs you. Make a Donation (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/)

in closing…

All the kids are home for Christmas! Ethan, Arianna, Danielle, and Brianne flew from Texas to be here and celebrate the holidays with us. Sushi was the order of the day! Lol! Watch “You are an original masterpiece! Criticizing yourself hurts the heart of God. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tb1JKdSJR8c&t=4s)

Beloved, thank you for your prayers and support. Your prayers and faith encourage us greatly!

Sandy and I continue to preach Christ and His resurrection, and He is the same yesterday, today, and forevermore! We don’t know how to be any other way. Because we are fully persuaded of Christ’s Lordship, we persuade men into truth and salvation through Him. (2Cor 5:11) In love, we confront, challenge, immerse, expose, offend men and women with the Word of God.

My intentions are to preach Christ as long as I have breath in my body. We can use your help. As financial support has decreased, ministerial demands have not. You can partner with us in these works through your financial gifts and contributions. Donations can be made online through Christians In Action (https://cinami.org/missionary/guerra-nick-sandy/). Or, you can mail contributions to the address listed below.

I thank Christ Jesus our Lord for giving you strength to do His work, that He considered you trustworthy, and that He appointed you to serve Him! (1Tim 1:12)
<*{{{{><
In His calling,
Nick & Sandy Guerra, Bond-servants of Christ

Contributions can be mailed to:
Dominic Guerra (Acct# 426)
c/o Christians In Action, Missions International
1300 E. Shaw Ave., Suite 135
Fresno, CA 93710-7904

▪ Please ensure Acct #426 is annotated on your contribution so the funds can be allocated correctly.
▪ Please share/forward these newsletters at your discretion.

— Our Mission & Vision —
“Gather Sheep & Convert Goats!”
“Catch, Clean, & Release!”

One response to ““… but christ!”

  1. Pingback: “Purple Is My Favorite Color!” | ZCDC·

Leave a comment